
O.#K.#plenty#of#grey#areas#with#this#one#and#lots#of#questions#to#be#asked#before#a#definitive#answer#can#be#given.#
#
Where#there#are#no#grey#areas#is#in#the#first#question#and#that#this#is#a#foul.#The#cue#ball#has#jumped#a#ball#without#striking#another#ball#first#
and#in#landing#on#the#far#side#of#any#such#object#ball,#whether#striking#that#ball#or#not#on#the#way,#constitutes#a#jumped#ball#and#a#foul.#This#is#
the#case#if#the#cue#ball#should#pass#over#any#part,#even#the#finest#edge,#of#the#ball#jumped.#
#
For#the#second#question#the#first#and#obvious#thing#to#consider#is,#could#there#be#another#escape#path#that#would#not#bring#the#cue#ball#close#
enough#to#a#ball#not#on#so#that#it#could#be#jumped?#
If#so,#and#in#my#opinion,#the#stroke#described#would#not#constitute#a#genuine#attempt#at#first#contacting#a#ball#on#and#would#justify#a#call#of#
miss#regardless#of#the#fact#that#the#first#ball#contacted#was#a#ball#on.#
#
If#there#is#not#such#a#path,#are#the#cushions#on#this#table#ones#that#tend#to#throw#the#ball#off#the#bed,#or#do#they#have#‘dead’#rubbers#that#calls#
upon#the#striker#to#play#with#excessive#force#so#as#to#reach#the#desired#position?#
If#either#of#these#is#the#case#then#an#assessment#of#the#stroke#would#need#to#be#taken#by#the#referee#at#the#time#as#to#whether#the#attempt#was#
good#enough#and#then#make#his#decision#if#a#miss#should#or#should#not#be#called,#having#also#considered#that#the#poor#state#of#the#table#could#
have#contributed#to#the#foul.#
#
If#there#is#no#other#escape#path,#did#the#striker#in#the#referees#opinion#deliberately#try#to#cause#the#cue#ball#to#jump#the#ball#not#on,#or#is#the#
opinion#that#the#desire#was#to#pass#close#to#the#ball#not#on#in#trying#to#avoid#it#and#so#go#on#to#strike#the#ball#on?#
If#it#is#the#former#that#is#the#opinion#of#the#referee#he#is#then#obligated#by#the#rules#to#call#a#miss#and#further#to#consider#warning#the#player#
that#such#conduct#will#not#be#tolerated.#If#the#latter,#then#as#above#he#must#make#the#assessment.#
#
If#the#cue#ball#were#to#have#been#played#so#that#it#did#not#leave#the#table#and#the#same#path#were#chosen#to#escape,#would#it#then#have#struck#
the#ball#that#was#jumped#and#would#the#referee#be#within#his#rights#to#call#a#miss#in#that#case?#
#
Well#within#his#rights#and#in#most#cases,#required#by#the#rules#to#do#so.#
#
Another#thing#that#might#also#need#consideration#is#the#impossible#snooker#situation.#The#rule#only#tells#us#that#as#long#as#the#cue#ball#is#
played#with#enough#pace#and#in#the#direct#or#indirect#path#to#a#ball#on#then#only#a#foul#should#be#called#and#not#a#miss#and#as#with#a#previous#
poser#where#there#were#options#of#which#foul#the#striker#could#make#to#escape,#but#having#no#choice#on#whether#to#foul#or#not,#then#he#was#at#
liberty#to#choose#which#of#those#fouls#he#would#make.#
#
The#third#part#of#this#poser#also#asks#for#an#assessment#by#the#referee.#After#the#stroke#has#been#played#he#must#make#a#decision#on#whether#
a#good#enough#attempt#at#an#escape#had#been#made#in#his#opinion,#by#the#striker#according#to#his#skill.#


