Victorian Snooker & Billiards Association 2005 report.

Pennant A Grade Premier Snooker

With just 6 teams in the A grade competition and Yarravilles overseas recruit – Rob James the season promised to be a good one. Brunswick were the minor premiers and defeated Yarraville 10-3 in the first semi, to become odds on favourite for the flag. Yarraville then defated Cheltenham 10-7 in a tough preliminary final. Yarraville then defeated Brunswick 10-9 in a much talked about grand final to win their second flag in a row.

Highlights – Rod Nelson high Break 120, Rob James won most frames with 40. Most Improved Player my vote goes to Daryl Tippett from Cheltenham.

Pennant B Grade Premier Snooker

Fast Eddies were the minor premiers and defeated Brunswick Black 10 – 4 in the Grand Final. Highlights – Tony Masci won most frames for the second year in a row with 44, High Break to Charlie Lowe with a 92. Most Improved Player, my vote goes to Sm Filiadis from Fast Eddies.

State C1 Grade Premier Snooker

Princes Blue were the minor premiers by just 2 frames from Brunswick White with Brunswick winning a close final 10 - 8.

Highlights – Kevin Xu high Break 73 and most frames with 34 and wins my vote for Most Improved Player.

State C2 Grade State Snooker

Maccabi Red were the minor premiers and went on to win the grand final 7-2 being too strong for Yarraville.

Highlights – Chris Kaplanis high Break 46. Russell Cook won most frames with 29. Most Improved Player, my vote goes to Chris Kaplanis from Fast Eddies.

Pennant A Grade Billiards

In the Preliminary final Kooyong defeated Yarraville 8 – 4 (Neil Croft high break of 94 to defeat John Schenck) to get into the grand final for the first time in many years. Brunswick were too good in the Grand final defeating Kooyong 8 – 4.

Highlights – Steve Mifsud high Break 243. Simon Scerri won most games with 20. Most Improved Player, my vote goes to Simon Scerri from Yarraville.

Pennant B Grade Billiards

Princes were the minor premiers finishing equal with Red Triangle on games won but taking top spot on a count back. St Marys Finished third and defeated Red Triangle in the Preliminary Final for the right to play Princes in the Grand Final. St Marys defeated Princes on the last shot of the night to take the flag.

Highlights – Chris Coyne high Break 58. Brett Porter and Terry Rushford won most games with 18. Most Improved Player, my vote would have to go to Anna Lynch.

Willis A Grade Snooker

Willis A grade Snooker saw the introduction of Super League for the first time. A new team joined us from Masters, with Aaron Mahoney and James Mifsud they were always going to be hard to beat and finished as minor Premiers. Defeating Princes in a very close Grand Final 7-6

Highlights – High Break – Steve Mifsud 116, Most Frames – Steve Mifsud with 31, Most Improved – Daryl Lim from Princes.

Super League (John Mc Kay Sheild)

The Inaugural John Mc Kay Sheild Super League a new format appeared to be well accepted by the players and was well contested. The top four qualifiers played a final series at Kings with Daniel Thorp defeating James Mifsud in the final to become 2005 Super League Champion.

Willis B Grade Snooker

Brunswick White finished minor premiers by just 1 point from 3 other teams having to separate them on a count back in one of the most closely contested B grade competitions ever. Princes Dragons defeated Dandenong Club 7 – 1 to take the Grand Final.

Highlights – Brian Cunningham high Break 71. Brian Cunningham and Remus Goh won most games with 29. Most Improved Player, my vote would go to Brian Cunningham

Willis C1 Grade Snooker

Princes Blue defeated Yarraville in a lopsided final 7 – 1 to take the Grand Final Highlights – Silvester Yung high break with a 70, see you in B grade next year Silvester. Rod Mc Callum won most games with 30. Most Improved Player, my vote would go to Nick Baltas from Fast Eddies.

Willis C2 Grade Snooker

With 14 teams in this grade we ran a final 5, first time we have done this and it appeared to be welcomed by the participating teams. Fast Eddies finished minor premiers and went on to defeat Dandenong in a close Grand Final 7 - 5

Highlights – Paul Thomerson high Break 57. Abi Newman won most games with 30. Most Improved Player, my vote would go to Paul Thomerson, surely Paul will play A grade in the not too distant future..

Handicap Snooker Tournaments

Tournament 1, the Robby Foldvari Hçap Snooker Karl Li def Harry Andrews Tournament 2, the Gary Cullen Hçap Snooker Tony Masci def Paul Dixon Tournament 3, the George Ganim Hçap Snooker Jason Black def Alan Croft These 3 Tournaments appeared to be well received and will be played again next year. A Final Series was played at Kings with the Winner being Lionel Renfree he defeated Paul Dixon in the Fianl. The Handicap Final Series Playoff was played on the same day as the Super League Final Series and was well supported.

Victorian Snooker Championship

Rob James defeated Steve Ebejer 6 frames to in a convincing display of quality snooker. Rob James had the highest break (made in the last frame of the final) for the tournament as well with 110.

Victorian Womens Snooker Championship

Kathy Howden defeated Samantha Ridley 3 frames to 0 (all on the Black) for her second Vic title in 2 years.

Victorian Junior Snooker Championships

Under 21 Sam Fitgerald def Ben Cahill

Under 18 Sam Fitzgerald def Brock HodgsonUnder 15 Daniel Faddoul def Jonathan Davidson

Lance Pannell Classic Snooker Tournament

Dene O'Kane Defeated Rob James 4 frames to 2.

Fred Osbourne Snooker Tournament

Rudy Sulaiman defeated Rob Foldvari in the final

Victorian Womens Billiards (the Ruby Roberts Victorian Billiards Ladies C'ship)

Anna Lynch defeated Tessa Russell.

City of Melbourne Snooker Tournament

Dene O'Kane def Joe Minici

Victorian Open Billiards Championship

John Schenck last years Winner was defeated by Steve Mifsud in a closely contested, high scoring match, both players played well with Steve coming home in the last 5 minutes to win by less than 50.

In the Vic minor Billirds Joe Bonici was Runner Up for the 2nd year in a row when he was defeated by Rob Ganson.

Alan Croft - Secretary and Score Registrar of the VB&SA

The Board of the VB&SA for 2005 were:

Ron Cole President

Paul Cosgriff Vice President & Head of Referees for Victoria

George Hov Treasurer

Alan Croft Secretary, Score Registrar and Website

Maintenance

Christian Walkerden
Denis Coghlan
Graeme Mc Neil
Joe Sacco
Committee Member
Committee Member
Committee Member

On behalf of the 2005 Board, congratulations go to all involved in 2004 for what we consider as a very successful year. To all those that contributed in any way whatsoever, well done! To the players that made the year so successful, thankyou. Looking forward to great 2006. Let us all accept the challenge, to continue to improve at whatever we do, in the sport we enjoy.